The clerk of court’s office works in partnership with the Louisiana Bureau of Vital Statistics to provide birth and death certificate services. If, after examining this web page, you have questions, contact the clerk’s office at (504) 934-6610 or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays.
Most certificates may be obtained within 15 minutes. However, certain birth records prior to 1983 must be updated manually by state officials before the clerk of court can print the certificate, so it may take longer to issue. It is recommended that those seeking a birth certificate arrive at the clerk of court's office before 4:00 p.m. because the record may need to be manually updated.
Death certificates for deaths prior to 2012 must be obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Birth records older than 100 years and death records older than 50 years must be obtained from the Louisiana Secretary of State, You may search those records online at no charge HERE.
- Birth Certificate: $34.00
- Birth Certificate w/Birth Card: $48.00
- Death Certificate: $26.00
Those not wishing to pay the clerk of court’s fee ($15 included in the above prices) should proceed to the La. Bureau of Vital Statistics, Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras St. 4th Fl., New Orleans LA 70160, or consult the state’s web site for information on mail service: HERE.
Primary documentsOne (1) document required:
- Current state issued picture identification that displays a photograph which clearly identifies the applicant.
- Current U.S. military identification card that displays a photograph which clearly identifies the applicant.
- Current U.S. issued or Foreign issued Passport
- U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550, N-570 or N-578)
- U.S. Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560 or N-578)
- Students (high school or younger) – a current school yearbook or a current school identification document with a photograph which clearly identifies the applicant.
Secondary DocumentsTwo (2) documents required:
- Current student picture identification card from a college or university when accompanied by a 100% fee paid receipt for the current semester. (COUNTS AS TWO DOCUMENTS)
- A W-2 form issued within the last two years plus an original signed Social Security Card. The Social Security numbers must match. (COUNTS AS TWO DOCUMENTS)
- Original adoption papers
- Official certified deeds or title to property
- Certificate of vehicle title
- Insurance policy must show name of the applicant (Health, Home, Life, and Auto).
- Payroll stub (cannot be handwritten) showing the name and social security number of the applicant.
- Current U.S. military dependent identification card that displays a photograph which clearly identifies the applicant.
- Original DD-214 Military Discharge document which clearly identifies the applicant.
- Voter’s Registration application (certified true copy)
PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO OBTAIN BIRTH CERTIFICATES:
Louisiana is a “closed record” state, meaning that birth and death certificates are not public records. All requests for birth or death certificates must include proper identification. Under Louisiana law, birth records are strictly confidential until 100 years after the year of birth. Birth records older than 100 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives in Baton Rouge. Death records are strictly confidential until 50 years after the year of death. Death records older than 50 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives.
- Registrant/Person named in the certificate
- Mother/Father of the person named in the certificate
- Children of the person named in the certificate
- Current legal spouse of the person named in the certificate
- Brother/sister of the person named in the certificate
- Grandparents/grandchildren of the person named in the certificate if the parents are listed on the birth certificate.
- Legal guardian of the person named in the certificate. Legal guardian must have a judgment of custody. Custody by mandate or Provisional custody from a notary not accepted. Transfer of custody witnessed by a notary not accepted.
- Attorney representing the registrant at present or Attorney for an immediate or surviving family member of the person named in the certificate. Must have a letter of representation on original letterhead. Attorney Bar Number is needed on application. If attorney's Paralegal/Court runner: Must have letter from attorney's original letterhead stating the case docket number, attorney's bar number, and the name of the person to whom the document is to be released.
- Non relative with authorization from registrant: Must have a letter of authorization and a copy of applicant's state identification card or driver's license. Letter must state the registrant's name and birthday, and supply the name of the person authorized to pick up the birth certificate.