Board of Election Supervisors

PLAQUEMINES PARISH Board of Election Supervisors

The clerk of court chairs the Plaquemines Parish Board of Election Supervisors. Before an election, the board selects, at random, qualified commissioners to staff each precinct and convenes to seal the voting machines. On election day, the body counts absentee and early ballots and, after the election, meets again to certify the election results before they are sent to the secretary of state’s office. The board also meets once each year to select commissioners-in-charge for each precinct in the parish.


Board of Election Supervisors:

  • Hon. Kim Turlich-Vaughan, Plaquemines Parish Clerk of Court, Ex-Officio
  • Debra Rhodes, Plaquemines Parish Registrar of Voters, Ex-Officio
  • Joanna Cappiello-Leopold, Louisiana Governor’s Appointee
  • Mike Mariana, Plaquemines Parish Republican Party Designee
  • Vanessa Billiot, Plaquemines Parish Democratic Party Designee