Plaquemines Parish Marriage License Requirements
UPDATED - 08/28/2017 as per R.S. 221-228, CCP 74.31 of Act 419 (2017)
Based on ruling in Vo vs. Gee, U.S.D.C. Eastern District of Louisiana No. 16-15639
- A marriage license may be issued in any parish, regardless of where ceremony is to be performed or the parties reside, and must be used in Louisiana.
- Only one party needs to be present to apply but must have all information and documents required.
- License must be purchased at least 24 hours before ceremony and expires 30 days after issuance
- Cost is $30.00 which includes one certified copy.
Information Required for Application
- Full name, residence, race, and age of each party
- Parents' names and birth places
- Number of former marriages of each party, date ended, and whether divorced or not
- Each party's social security number or a statement by the applicable party that no social security number has been issued to him.
Documentation Needed for License
- Valid and unexpired driver's license or government-issued ID of the applicant
- Certified copy of each party's birth certificate
- Louisiana born: Certified full or short form certificate; OR
- Born outside Louisiana: Copy of birth certificate under raised seal of vital statistics in place of birth; OR
- Born outside US: Original birth certificate. (If birth certificate is not in English, party must also provide a translated copy.) Certificates of Naturalization can also be accepted in place of a birth record.
- Copy of judgment of divorce or death certificate if previously married
- Authorization for a minor to marry, if applicable. (Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without parental consent. If an applicant is under 18 years of age, both parents, the applicant's tutor, or person awarded custody of the applicant must provide a notarized affidavit, which may be downloaded here: Parent's Consent for Marriage (Age 16 or 17). If either applicant is under 16 years of age, applicant and parents must appear before a juvenile court judge for permission to marry.)
- Declaration of intent for covenant marriage, if applicable